2013 TRX500FM code question - Honda TRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2019, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

2013 TRX500FM code question

Hello all newbie here to the site. I have a small shop and normally service golf carts but recently have been over ran with 4 wheelers. I typically have no issues as I have a lot of carbureted motor experience, FI on the other hand I am learning.

So at the moment I have a 2013 TRX500FM that does not want to run at WOT. I purchased the OBDll reader and have got the following info
Fault code 12-1 #1 Fuel injector circuit fault (no.1 cylinder primary injector circuit)
Fault code 29-1 IAC valve control failure(rac valve control failure)

My question is where do I go from here? Do I have a bad injector or is there something in the fuel circuit that would cause this? Also the IAC is Idle air control correct?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2019, 08:07 PM
Super Moderator

Yes - the IAC is idle air control - normally has nothing to do with WOT problems - I can't think of an instance where IAC has affected WOT performance - on the other hand, fuel quality (old vs new) will affect WOT performance. Fuel with a lot of additives is as bad as old fuel. Old fuel is alcohol blended fuel over 3 weeks old. In my experience most high speed performance problems are caused by fuel or fuel pressure, followed by faulty sensors and mechanical problems.
Old 04-03-2019, 12:33 PM Thread Starter

I agree with what you say as far as the IAC having nothing to do with the issue I am having. I also agree on the fuel issue as it provides me with probably a fair 50% of my business.