TRX250EX Carb interchange - Honda TRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 06-10-2019, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

TRX250EX Carb interchange

Hi all I'm a Newb to this forum, but I've been riding a long time. I have a question about the stock 250 EX carbs. I have a 2005 that seems to have a casting flaw somewhere in the carb body. It runs fine when cold but eventually once its warm fuel will start pouring out the overflow and it starts loading up etc.

Ive replaced the float, needle, and seat, resealed overflow tube etc., same result.

I've decided to just replace the carb, the Chicom replacements don't seem to be a good option.

So the questions is this: the 01-05 carbs from Honda sell for nearly double that of the 06 and later carbs (16100-HN6-A31). Are they essentially the same except for jetting/slide/needle? I have already rejetted my old carb so I figured I'd just buy the newer one (if it fits) and swap my jets over.

Any experience out there with this swap?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 06-10-2019, 02:30 PM Thread Starter

Crickets............So I spent some time online comparing component part numbers on the Honda diagrams. Looks like they are similar, many parts are same, jets definitely different, Pilot is way leaner, needle different. So I ordered an 06 carb,I’ll post what I figure out
post #3 of 3 Old 06-10-2019, 03:33 PM
Super Moderator

Pretty impatient aren't you?

I just got online - the carbs are essentially the same - the 06 is in greater supply than the 05 and the differences are subtle, but important.