Leak Down Test reveals air leaking out exhaust - Honda TRX Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 09-30-2019, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Leak Down Test reveals air leaking out exhaust

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to atv / car repair, and I have a very troublesome 1986 TRX125 and I've been trying to get it to run for a while now (installed new stator, pulse generator, etc). After a lot of different fix attempts, I finally decided to do a compression test and a leak down test. It failed the compression test (it seemed to only barely get off the 0 and not even up to 20 or anything), and when I ran a leak down test at top center, the air is flowing right through and out the exhaust pipe. When it's not at top center, the air runs out the intake in the carburetor. Is this a total rebuild job? Is the exhaust valve messed up? Would I be better off buying a new top end on ebay for $100, or try to fix this one? Ive never opened up an engine outside of auto-shop back in high school haha. Thanks! Reid
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-30-2019, 09:24 PM
Super Moderator

To do a leak down test, you have to lock the piston at or very near TDC - at the bottom of the stroke one of the two valves is open slightly - the only time both valves are completely closed is from approximately 35 degrees after BDC of the compression stroke to about 35 degrees after TDC of the combustion stroke.