Honda TRX ATV Forum banner

400ex transmission problems

12K views 9 replies 2 participants last post by  Here 2 help 
#1 ·
Greetings, my name is Aaron I'm an electrician. I own a 2000 400ex. I use this site alot to answer alot of my questions that i have when I was rebuilding my 400ex. I ran into an issue and couldn't quite find the answers to my question via other forums/posts. So I decided i would join this forum in Hope's to get information and share some of my knowledge and experience. I am mechanically inclined, I have rebuilt alot of things from motorcycles, quads, small engines ect. However I have ran into a problem with my rebuild on my 400ex. I just put in new weisco crank, main bearings, piston 85mm 10:1, cylinder. New stage 1 cam, rocker arms, valves/springs/seals. When I split the case the tranny gears fell out and came apart. I used a diagram and double checked it 2 or 3 times. When I put it all back together and was going through my break in period I noticed the shifter lever has alot of play in it and it would not let me shift into 3rd. And once in 2nd it wouldn't let me shift back into 1st. I can go through all gears when it's off and I rock the quad back and forth letting in and out clutch but it still is far from smooth.

#2 · (Edited)
This is a tough call without hands on, but I'll do my best to try to help you.

If the transmission shifts with the engine off - there is probably nothing wrong with it.

I gather from your description you are trying to shift through the gears with the engine running, but the quad is stationary? Not being able to shift that way is normal.

The play in the shift lever - may or may not be normal - would need a hands on examination to make that determination.

Please do not extol the modifications or performance improvements when asking about the transmission - you may be excited about what you have done, but it has no bearing on the problem you are inquiring about.