Honda TRX ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, everyone i am new to trxforums and needing some help with my 08 400ex. The clutch is not disengaging i believe. with the lever pulled in and i try to shift into gear the countershaft just takes off spinning even with pressure on the sprocket to hold it in place. Chain is not on btw but i dont believe that would matter i have put alot of pressure on the sprocket. i have taken out the clutch and inspected all the plates and basket all looked fine besides very minimal grooving on the basket. I have adjusted the clutch cable both in and out to see if that was the issue but no changes. The clutch cover lever also seems to have no issues. Im not sure what to check next just looking for some guidance. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,350 Posts
Put a chain on it - just the oil between the plates will cause enough drag to make the transmission shafts spin with a fair amount of force. The only other thing that I can think of would be the possibility of the driven plates (one or more) being warped and acting like a spring - even then (with a chain on it) it would still release, but it would drag to the point of making shifting difficult and the machine would want to creep with the clutch released. To inspect the driven plates for warp, clean all the oil off and lay them on a flat surface (like a counter top) each one should lay flat with no gap around either the inside or outside edge. Turn each plate over - if there is no gap and you turn it over and then there is a gap, that plate is warped and should be replaced for better clutch operation, but a brand new clutch will still try to drive the engine sprocket when the chain is off of it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3