Honda TRX ATV Forum banner

carb help im assuming...

3K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  natedogg937 
#1 · (Edited)
so I got a 2001 400ex on trade. Ran good just didn't idle for squat. I'm new to quads to boot but I'm mechanically inclined. Well the quad does weird things when I started it today I had it idling then it just started revving extremely high then it went down and wouldn't idle at all and die. Mind u I only have an aftermarket muffler on at this point the quad is still pretty much stock. I noticed it was leaking gas out the overflow but it still starts and when I drove it it bogged down at full throttle. I'm not sure what to make of this but I will say that the cable underneath the carb is broken. Idk what it is but I know its a cable that runs from an adjustable screw into the carb from the bottom. Is the cable important can it be causing this dilemma?

#2 ·
You have multiple problems (mostly carb) - the high idle might be a vacuum leak, but get the carb fixed first

Not wanting to idle could have something to do with the "broken cable" under the carb. That cable is a flexible shaft that attached to the idle set screw. A new one is about $12

First question - can you hold the engine at idle using the throttle? If you can, you might be able to turn the screw the cable was attached to and set the idle speed. Bogging at full throttle is either too little or too much fuel - to figure it out, ride it and at full throttle put the choke on - if it makes it run better with the choke on, it needs more fuel (bigger main jet or clean the jet it has), if it doesn't help, then it's probably getting too much fuel (needs a smaller main jet or sometimes the jet has just fallen out or even broke and just needs put back in the main jet holder)