Honda TRX ATV Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's up people
I'm a construction worker that just got an 05 TRX 500 not to long ago and have had a blast with it . this damn thing is a beast of a machine for only being 2wd
I've been told that 05 was the only year they made them 2wd . Well now the damn thing has jumped time I believe.reason being it had a little rattle from the chain being loose but if it ain't broke don't fix it right well now it's down
Did I mention that I was a carpenter well I can work on small engines and My truck or car but this thing is my toy and I have watched a cple of video and bought an online man but I'm just a dumb ass swamp neck that needs step by step instructions any body care to help

·
Super Moderator
4,479 Posts
First thing to do is determine the damage - take the valve adjustment caps off (#6 in the pic) and turn the engine over by hand - this is to determine if the cam chain broke or just jumped time - if the valves open and close then the cam chain is not broke - turn the engine with the spark plug out and when the intake valve opens and then closes, bring the piston to TDC (use a soda straw or other flexible semi-rigid object to feel the piston moving to TDC) - with the piston at TDC, check the valve clearance - if one valve has an extraordinary amount of clearance, then the cam has jumped time and a valve is bent.

Font Motor vehicle Engineering Urban design Automotive exterior

Let me know what you determine and I'll guide you from this point onward.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·