Honda TRX ATV Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, i have a question about my 99 400ex. It's very difficult to get it into neutral. I've only ridden it 4 times in the last month that I've owned so I'm pretty new to quads. Has anyone had this issue before? Thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,754 Posts
It's a common issue for any vehicle with a wet clutch.

Contributing factors: oil (viscosity, age, type), clutch cable (condition & adjustment), clutch parts (worn, broken, warped and/or modified) and engine idle speed.

It's usually not an issue if you shift into neutral before coming to a dead stop or if you shut off the engine.

If you simply have to shift into neutral with the engine running and the vehicle not moving, install a new stock clutch (all the parts: clutch basket, hub, fiber plates, metal plates and springs). Then use nothing but 10W40 or 10W30 JASO rated mineral oil or use (your choice of viscosity) JASO rated synthetic oil.

I ran Silkolene 15W50 synthetic in my 97 250 for 7 years. Changed it every 3 months. Sold it in 2004. The guy I sold it to continued the regimen. To this date, the engine has never had a cover removed for anything other than normal maintenance.