Honda TRX ATV Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 4 wheelers. Got a used Honda TRX200. It runs very well, but seems to be cold natured. If it is cold outside then it is hard to start. Battery is dead. The prior owner never changed out the battery and never used the electric starter. It starts with the pull rope. I would like to get the electric starter going. And yes I am going to get a new battery. Any tips will be appreciated.

The gear shifter on the left side changes gears by pushing down in this sequence; N,1,2,3,4,5 then the opposite by lifting up. Motorcycles are the opposite. Is this right or has my Honda been modified in some way?

The master cylinder for the front brakes does not work. The diaphragm in the front of it looks corroded. Do I put in a new diaphragm or install a new master cylinder?

Thank you and God bless

·
Registered
77 Posts
I am new to 4 wheelers. Got a used Honda TRX200. It runs very well, but seems to be cold natured. If it is cold outside then it is hard to start. Battery is dead. The prior owner never changed out the battery and never used the electric starter. It starts with the pull rope. I would like to get the electric starter going. And yes I am going to get a new battery. Any tips will be appreciated.

The gear shifter on the left side changes gears by pushing down in this sequence; N,1,2,3,4,5 then the opposite by lifting up. Motorcycles are the opposite. Is this right or has my Honda been modified in some way?

The master cylinder for the front brakes does not work. The diaphragm in the front of it looks corroded. Do I put in a new diaphragm or install a new master cylinder?

Thank you and God bless
With a new battery and the starter working properly, then it should be easier starting when cold. If not, then I would look into doing a carb cleaning, air cleaner, new spark plug etc. Maybe even check the valve clearances.

·
Super Moderator
3,475 Posts