Honda TRX ATV Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello! I am new to the ATV world. I am having a hard time finding info on my Honda fourtrax 200 type 2. The model code is TRX200DR. Does anyone know what year this is? where I can get a service manual? I know this is going to sound ridiculous... but I cannot seem to find any oil or fuel filters? I changed the oil but now what? I purchased a filter but I'm guessing it is for a different model. I checked out the centrifugal oil gear and it looked clean. Is that all I need to check? And what about the air filter under the seat. I read somewhere that I need to soak it in gear oil?? I am totally confused. The ATV starts up and runs ok. I just want to keep up with the maintenance. I am not familiar with motorcycles or this kind of motor. If I had some specs showing/identifying parts it would greatly help. Thanks!!!

·
Super Moderator
4,688 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I understand your enthusiasm and appreciate your seeking advice instead of blindly following internet misinformation and you have stumbled on the right place.

The TRX200D was introduced fi=or the 1991 model year and was produced through 1997. They wera all Type II with product code HF1. There were two versions; 49 state and New Hampshire. There is no published data indicating a DR model, but the New Hampshire model had the designation of DN.

91 was a 5 speed without reverse - 92 thru 97 was 5 speed with reverse

The VIN will reveal the year model

In 91 and 92; the 49 state model VIN started 478TE174 and the NH model was 478TE177
The 93 thru 97 models were; 49 state 478TE170 and NH 478TE173
The 10th digit of the VIN is the model year: M=91, N=92, P=93, R=94, S=95, T=96 and V=97

I'm going to guess yours is a 93 model

The oil filter is a brass or steel micro screen in the crankcase and a centrifuge chamber on the centrifugal clutch - no paper or cartridge filtration.