Honda TRX ATV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought this 400ex a couple days ago and when I measured my bore I got .8624mm so I was thinking its going to need a 86mm piston is this right? This would make it a 416 correct? The piston that came with is .8618mm it looks brand new but a ring was broke.

Can you just buy the rings for it? looks like a wiesco but not sure this is the part number:4154A4628M08700

This is the first 400ex I have ever owned and only rode one other. however I have owned a blaster 200x yfz grizzly and a outlander 800r so I have some experience with quads. My other question is when tearing down the bottom end I found lots of shavings. So a crank is on order.

My problem is should I replace the tranny bearings too?

Also if anyone has any plastic, or parts they want to sell I would be interested. Thanks for any help

·
Super Moderator
4,642 Posts
I'm not sure where you got the piston number, but 4628M08700 is the number for a Wiseco piston to fit an 87mm bore and a compression ratio of 11:1 - as for the measurement...... something is wrong. The bore has to be 87mm for the piston you have to fit.

Standard bore is 85mm for a displacement of 397cc and a compression ratio of 9.1:1

Standard piston size is 84.960 to 84.965mm measured 15mm from the bottom of the piston from front to rear (not side to side) - pistons are slightly tapered and slightly oval.

Standard piston to cylinder clearance is .0016"

The 87mm piston you have gives you 416cc displacement with the standard stroke of 70mm - for larger pistons the clearance should be increased - for the 416 piston, a clearance of .0020 is adequate for normal break-in. For racing and quick break-in, set the clearance to about .0025.

Replacement ring set is Wiseco part number 3425XC