Honda TRX ATV Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, My name is Arnold. New to this forum. I bought a 2001 400ex this past summer. It's beginning to smoke an awful lot, going through 1/2 quart every time I take it out, so its going to need the top end freshened up. What is a good build that will offer me a decent performance gain, while still maintaining good reliability? I'm new to building engines, so any advice and help will be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
4,647 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Since no one has offered their opinion, yet, here's mine......

You should have a decent performance gain by just correcting the engine's deficiencies. If you want more than that, you can safely bore to 416cc (87mm) without the need of having a "heavy" sleeve installed, or get a 436cc cylinder kit.

Increasing the bore will give the engine a boost in low end torque, but causes a reduction of high end RPM's. You can get back the top end with the installation of a high lift cam. I recommend a HotCams stage 2 cam to get back the lost top end RPM of the larger heavier piston - if you choose to bore larger than 86mm

If you only bore to 86mm (407cc), you can use the stock cam and gaskets. If you bore larger than 86mm, you need a special head gasket. If you install a HotCam, you will eliminate the auto-decompressor.

Finally, for a modest increase in both low and high end performance, install a reduced restriction exhaust.